Return to Headlines

Students Recognize, Honor School Board Members

WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (JANUARY 17, 2017) — Williamsport Area School District students recognized members of the board of education tonight in observance of School Director Recognition Month.  Students recognized board members by presenting each with a book that they can first read and then return to the presenting students' respective school libraries.
The following students presented books to board members:
  • Parker Fox and Dulaurie Surujbally, Cochran, to President Lori Baer 
  • Camden March and Sadie Bower, Hepburn-Lycoming, to Scott Williams
  • Emma Poole and Brady Ross, Jackson, to Dr. Nancy Story Somers
  • Jacob Way and Kelis Scott, Stevens, to Vice President Spencer Sweeting
  • Zadea Walker-Stoner and Devin Lowmiller, Curtin, to Pat Dixon
  • Sophia Crews and Dominick Diabelko, Lycoming Valley, to Jerene Milliken
  • Lauren SauersNatalie Powley and Iscah Rintelman, WAMS, to Dr. Robin Knauth
  • Mia ShulerPatrick Erikson and Ian Welshans, WAHS, to Jennifer Lake
Students from the Culinary Arts Department at Williamsport Area High School also honored the board members with a meal prior to the evening's school board meeting.
School Director Recognition Month is observed every January, saluting and celebrating their commitment to leading our public schools.